Wanderlodge Owners Group  

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > HVAC, Aqua Hot, Primus, Webasto, Chassis Heaters, Furnaces and Water Heaters

HVAC, Aqua Hot, Primus, Webasto, Chassis Heaters, Furnaces and Water Heaters Questions and information about the wide variety of Heating and Air Conditioning as well as Water Heater systems available are discussed here.

Site Search:

Old 06-21-2011

Default 12 volt roof top air conditioners?

Hey,

Complete newb here. My first post!

Anyway, I just bought 1977 31FC. Both air conditioners are dead. A local guy on Craigslist has 2 "Carrier Transport Air Conditioning" roof top units.

Anyone have experience with this type of air conditioner?

My rationale for considering these is: the generator is long gone, and replaced with 8D batteries. So could run these while I drive (the dash air is DOA as well).

Thanks!

Matt
Old 06-21-2011

Something to consider Matt- You rarely need A/C when traveling in the northern states. Enough air moves through the coach to make it very comfortable with the front windows and bedroom windows open. Most cooling is needed while parked in the sun- in which case the genny or at least campground/shore power will be needed. These units would be mounted on the roof and have hoses run down to the engine compartment for the compressor. I don't believe that they use 12V for the compressor- just the blower fans. I'd stick with the standard rooftop units like you find on most RV's. Just my .02 worth!

shane@midatlanticinspections.org
717-645-4912
Old 06-21-2011

Thanks Shane,

I wondered how the compressor could run off just 12 volts (and provide enough cooling).

I'm fussy - I like to drive with the windows closed; better to hear the tunes. So I'm gonna go see them and see what the deal is exactly.

Another question: The hole in the roof, is it the same size for all air conditioners?
Old 06-21-2011

Hole is standard. Make sure you get new roof seals or you'll have some condensate leaks