Wanderlodge Owners Group

Wanderlodge Owners Group (https://www.wanderlodgeownersgroup.com/forums/index.php)
-   SP (Single Axle Pusher Unique Issues) (https://www.wanderlodgeownersgroup.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   check fluorescent ballast? (https://www.wanderlodgeownersgroup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21377)

Zbird 11-23-2014 12:02 PM

check fluorescent ballast?
 
I have 3 fluorescent tubes out on curb side of coach :( 2 are in front above cabinets and one in kitchen above cabinets. Assumed bulbs were bad so easy fix---:rolleyes: Wrong! New bulbs don't work. Tried bulbs from street side that do work but not on curb side :confused: . How do I check to see if ballast are shot? Seems strange that 3 on same side went bad :eek: One bulb that does work is f36t12 but actually measures 33 inches- one in kitchen opening is 57 inches. Is that bulb f54? Thanks for any help-suggestions :D

MRPutz 11-23-2014 12:34 PM

If you find it is indeed the ballast then not worth fixing.. go LED ;)

gerrybc70 11-23-2014 12:44 PM

check fluorescent ballast?
 
I agree with mike (go LED). Better light, no need for the ballast and it's a easy installation.

Zbird 11-23-2014 12:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rtpn60 (Post 277335)
If you find it is indeed the ballast then not worth fixing.. go LED ;)

Michael I have been looking into led, read all your posts regarding same. If ballasts- fuse-relays have died would led work regardless?

Rick 11-23-2014 12:49 PM

Barry, I've changed out all of our flo to LED. Easy job with a bit of wire, butt splices and two sided tape.

MRPutz 11-23-2014 12:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zbird (Post 277339)
Michael I have been looking into led, read all your posts regarding same. If ballasts- fuse-relays have died would led work regardless?

If the ballast caused the fuse to blow then yes. You simply cut the ballast out of the circuit. Just need a fuse and +12 for LEDs. ;)

Zbird 11-23-2014 12:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gerrybc70 (Post 277338)
I agree with mike (go LED). Better light, no need for the ballast and it's a easy installation.

Thanks gerry, I guess "easy" is in the eye of the fixer. :rolleyes: I just need to know if that is only solution :cool:

Zbird 11-23-2014 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rtpn60 (Post 277341)
If the ballast caused the fuse to blow then yes. You simply cut the ballast out of the circuit. Just need a fuse and +12 for LEDs. ;)

Fuse + 12 ?????

Zbird 11-23-2014 12:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rick (Post 277340)
Barry, I've changed out all of our flo to LED. Easy job with a bit of wire, butt splices and two sided tape.

Thanks Rick. What did you get ? Where?

MRPutz 11-23-2014 12:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zbird (Post 277343)
Fuse + 12 ?????

Was just saying you need to find out why the fuse blows. If you cut the hot wire to the ballast and the fuse does not blow then you're good to go for LED.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.