Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
WOG Gear

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > General

General Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach that are not covered in other Mechanic's Corner categories (ex. refrigerators, water heaters, and compressors).

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-12-2018
Eagle1 Eagle1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Novi
Posts: 72
Default Fuel delivery the.

Has anyone had this fuel issue?

Seams that air is getting into the system, I believe it’s from the racor filter unit.

After I shut engine down , the Coach will not start from lack of fuel.
To get it started I must remove the screw on filter and fill with fuel.

I also have been going through filters Which did help.
I have purchached more racor filters but noticed they are 2M. Could this be restricting fuel? Should i try temporarily removing filter and see if there is a difference?

The PO told me it’s best to operate with over a half tank of fuel. My problem seams to get worse with less than half - fuel in the tank..

I have been unable to locate a new 900 racor filter or any parts.
E bay has one but does not have the heater or water sencor.
What would be a replacement for this system?

The raco filter shows vacuumed pressure when engine is off and fuel lines removed from filter. I suspect it is not accurate .

Is there a way I can access the fuel line going into the tank without removing ?
I have good reason to believe that my tank has debris/ rust.

Thank you for any help!

Marty
__________________
Martin OConnor
Novi, Michigan
1984 PT 35 Gone Fishing
1987 PT 40 Wayward Wind

Last edited by Eagle1; 06-13-2018 at 07:33 AM. Reason: more detail
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2018
f.wernlein f.wernlein is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Woodbridge, VA.
Posts: 921
Default

Racor filters for your 900 series unit are available in 30 micron at NAPA (#FIL3797) and West Marine (Racor #2040N30). 30M is the size to use for your initial filter IMO. 2 M is too restrictive. Filters come with new gasket/o-ring for the Racor lid.

Typically your engine mounted spin on final filter is 2 micron. You want to stay with a 2 micron as your final filter. If you do a # cross reference online you can find many brands...WIX, Baldwin, Fram...available at most auto/truck stores.

Both above can be found online in case lots at good prices over street retail.

I have a FC with the CAT3208...so can't offer much support as to other issue. It does sound that your losing prime...likely a fuel line leak or perhaps be a bad check valve somewhere in the fuel line system.
__________________
Frank W.
85FC33
Woodbridge, VA.

Coach photos & comments: http://www.wanderlodgeownersgroup.co...php?albumid=79
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2018
Bill Pape's Avatar
Bill Pape Bill Pape is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Commerce
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle1 View Post
Has anyone had this fuel issue?

Seams that air is getting into the system, I believe it’s from the racor filter unit.

After I shut engine down , the Coach will not start from lack of fuel.
To get it started I must remove the screw on filter and fill with fuel.

I also have been going through filters Which did help.
I have purchached more racor filters but noticed they are 2M. Could this be restricting fuel? Should i try temporarily removing filter and see if there is a difference?

The PO told me it’s best to operate with over a half tank of fuel. My problem seams to get worse with less than half - fuel in the tank..

I have been unable to locate a new 900 racor filter or any parts.
E bay has one but does not have the heater or water sencor.
What would be a replacement for this system?

The raco filter shows vacuumed pressure when engine is off and fuel lines removed from filter. I suspect it is not accurate .

Is there a way I can access the fuel line going into the tank without removing ?
I have good reason to believe that my tank has debris/ rust.

Thank you for any help!

Marty
Novi NAPA will find the filters & they make all the hydraulic or other special hoses. Filters are always cheaper online if you can wait. Michigan CAT can help but bring a high dollar credit card, Fleetpride is in New Hudson
__________________
Bill & Patty
1988 FC, Silver Edition
Commerce, Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2018
Randy Dupree's Avatar
Randy Dupree Randy Dupree is offline
Forum owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Archer,Fl
Posts: 31,470
Default

Racor stuff is not hard to find,good parts guys are hard to find.
But,a search here on wog would turn up many reports of the racor filter guage sucking air.
plug the 1/4'' copper line back at the racor and see if that helps.
OK,don't plug the line,plug where the line attaches to the racor.
__________________
DO NOT SEND PM
email me at randy@randydupree.com only.

Randy Dupree
2000 LXI 43
Bainbridge,Ga.
Archer Fl.
www.buybyebluebird.com

randy@randydupree.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2018
Eagle1 Eagle1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Novi
Posts: 72
Default

Thank you,
I will try that later today.
__________________
Martin OConnor
Novi, Michigan
1984 PT 35 Gone Fishing
1987 PT 40 Wayward Wind
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2018
Eagle1 Eagle1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Novi
Posts: 72
Post

Fuel problem has gotten worse.

I plugged the racor Gage at the filter.
Changed to 30 m filters

Removed racor filter and replaced all gaskets and ball.
Inlet line was hard to blow but was able to hear bubbling in fuel tank.

Attached another line to inlet fuel line and was able to Siphon fuel at a good rate. Although it was hard to suck to start Siphon.
Check valve on inlet of racor seamed hard to blow through. And would not let me blow back to the tank.

With the racor all cleaned up the inlet connection were removed and resealed.
I noticed a few air bubbles coming from the cyclone area inside the filter clear bowl.
But still,
highway speeds for about an hour before losing power.
When at low rpm or at intersections bus will stall.

When stalled we would remove spin on filter and fill with fuel.
Bus would run and go for another hour as long as the rpm were higher or over 35 mph.

The good news
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	36BD2226-35A3-49B5-8618-37B3DDB2C350.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	196.1 KB
ID:	56377  
__________________
Martin OConnor
Novi, Michigan
1984 PT 35 Gone Fishing
1987 PT 40 Wayward Wind
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-09-2018
badandy badandy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: delavan
Posts: 918
Default

You can get into the fuel tank sending unit/pickup from the top of the tank through the kitchen floor if need be. It's a copper line and my generator line was plugged up pretty good, engine line was free. You might try disconnecting the line from the top of the tank and at the racor and blowing through it to see if it's clear or not. It's a pretty straight shot on my bus, and I was able to use a solid conductor copper ground wire (14ga) to poke the genny line clear.

The 2 micron filter was way too small, so running the 30 is a good idea. Throwing away the Racor is a better idea, but you probably won't hear that from anyone else. After getting mine all apart I decided a $15 spin-on filter would be better in every way and I haven't regretted yet.

Is your Racor gauge registering anything? Why did you block it off?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-09-2018
rshrimp rshrimp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Myakka City
Posts: 1,060
Default

BadAndy. I'm with you on the Racor! Seems there are WAY to many "Problems with Racor " threads on here.
__________________
Randy and Sonya Shrimplin
FMCA# F457849
Livin' the dream, next door to the Drysdale's in Beverly Hills FL!
2000 LX40 ME "Angry Bird!"
Body# 129047
RShrimp@Yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-09-2018
Bill Pape's Avatar
Bill Pape Bill Pape is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Commerce
Posts: 10,679
Default

air bubble in the racor bowl is not good,
check the line from the frame or bulk head to the racor,
insert clear tubing with barbs to see if the air bubbles are before the racor
__________________
Bill & Patty
1988 FC, Silver Edition
Commerce, Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-09-2018
dennis hight dennis hight is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: mancos co.
Posts: 394
Default

Martin if you are seeing air bubbles you have a air leak those air bubbles are getting into your secondary filter and loosing prime, have you tried the racor store on line ? You could possibly buy a reseal kit from them or buy a water separator spin on they are easier to change. Just my thoughts good luck
__________________
Dennis&Debbie Hight 91 wb mancos co.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unique Ford Sedan Delivery iamflagman Under The Awning 4 08-11-2015 11:37 PM
03 LXI Delivery south of Rockport Texas birds_first LX and LXI (Unique Issues) 6 12-05-2013 11:36 PM
powertech fuel delivery lindsayway Generators 17 05-20-2013 02:20 PM
PDI- Pre Delivery Inspections by Ernie Ekberg Ernest Ekberg Vendors 11 07-22-2010 05:06 PM
1987 PT38 fuel delivery problem Detroit 928V hltsystems Engine 11 04-25-2010 02:29 AM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.