Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Generators

Generators In this forum we will try to answer any of your questions about the different model generators that can be found on Blue Bird coach's.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-24-2018
FrankK FrankK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bentonville
Posts: 110
Default Generator 50amp Breaker Replacement

Trying to finish up my generator replacement. Apparently when the generator was putting out too much power it melted the 50amp breaker. I just opened the new breaker and its different than what I have there now. I have no electrical experience so I'm confused. Why does the new breaker have three loads at the back? Can this replace what I have or do I need a different breaker? There was no pigtail on the old breaker either.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Old Breaker.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	197.2 KB
ID:	57151   Click image for larger version

Name:	Breaker Box 4.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	197.1 KB
ID:	57152   Click image for larger version

Name:	Breaker Box 5.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	197.6 KB
ID:	57153   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ne w 50amp Breaker.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	173.8 KB
ID:	57154   Click image for larger version

Name:	New 50amp Breaker - back .jpg
Views:	79
Size:	182.9 KB
ID:	57155  
__________________
Frank Kerr
Bentonville, Arkansas
1985 PT 36 (6V92)

fdkerr@cox.net

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2018
isp2952's Avatar
isp2952 isp2952 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 1520 N. Binkley Rd., Larwill, IN 46764
Posts: 6,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankK View Post
Trying to finish up my generator replacement. Apparently when the generator was putting out too much power it melted the 50amp breaker. I just opened the new breaker and its different than what I have there now. I have no electrical experience so I'm confused. Why does the new breaker have three loads at the back? Can this replace what I have or do I need a different breaker? There was no pigtail on the old breaker either.
The very first thing you need to do is buy a proper box to attach the new circuit breaker into. That cobbed up deal you have there is dangerous, with that breaker bouncing off of the walls is very possibly the reason it shorted out. The breaker you show in the pic is a GFCI breaker and not what you want. GFCI breakers and outlets sometimes mess with you when trying to find issues in bus wiring.
__________________

Jim and Michele Walters
2000 LX ME
'93 WLWB (Sold)
Bluebird of Happiness
2002 Silverado Diesel 2500 HD 4x4
260-224-1278
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2018
GEEZER GEEZER is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Azle
Posts: 395
Default

The new breaker looks like it’s a ground fault breaker,the old one is not.
__________________
Steve and Vonda Ricketts
Azle, Texas
1983 FC35SB
2003 Jeep Rubicon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2018
FrankK FrankK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bentonville
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by isp2952 View Post
The very first thing you need to do is buy a proper box to attach the new circuit breaker into. That cobbed up deal you have there is dangerous, with that breaker bouncing off of the walls is very possibly the reason it shorted out. The breaker you show in the pic is a GFCI breaker and not what you want. GFCI breakers and outlets sometimes mess with you when trying to find issues in bus wiring.
This project has become an onion. The more layers I peel back the more issues I find. I assume that box is okay as long as I replace the breaker and it’s securely fastened?
__________________
Frank Kerr
Bentonville, Arkansas
1985 PT 36 (6V92)

fdkerr@cox.net

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2018
Bill Pape's Avatar
Bill Pape Bill Pape is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Commerce
Posts: 11,831
Default

those are common 50 breakers available at homeylowes.
Just get the correct brand breaker that fits the box or a new box and breaker
__________________
Bill & Patty
1988 FC, Silver Edition
Commerce, Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2018
isp2952's Avatar
isp2952 isp2952 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 1520 N. Binkley Rd., Larwill, IN 46764
Posts: 6,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankK View Post
This project has become an onion. The more layers I peel back the more issues I find. I assume that box is okay as long as I replace the breaker and it’s securely fastened?
I question the wisdom of not buying this https://www.homedepot.com/p/Murray-6...-100140780-_-N for less than $14 versus what you ended up with on a hacked up setup. Like Bill said, get a matching breaker for this box. There are all kinds of brands of breakers and they all attach in their own unique ways.
__________________

Jim and Michele Walters
2000 LX ME
'93 WLWB (Sold)
Bluebird of Happiness
2002 Silverado Diesel 2500 HD 4x4
260-224-1278
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2018
gcyeaw's Avatar
gcyeaw gcyeaw is offline
Gardner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ridgewood
Posts: 8,970
Default

I didn't even know there was a dual 50 amp gfci breaker. How does that work?

I sure hope the campgrounds don't start using them
__________________
Gardner Yeaw
86 PT-36 Golden Memories
83FC35 SB $IXTEEN TON$ SOLD
78 FC 33 Happinest (Sold)
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2018
FrankK FrankK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bentonville
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by isp2952 View Post
I question the wisdom of not buying this https://www.homedepot.com/p/Murray-6...-100140780-_-N for less than $14 versus what you ended up with on a hacked up setup. Like Bill said, get a matching breaker for this box. There are all kinds of brands of breakers and they all attach in their own unique ways.
I didn’t realize they attached differently. I’m off to HD.
__________________
Frank Kerr
Bentonville, Arkansas
1985 PT 36 (6V92)

fdkerr@cox.net

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2018
Ed Wimberley's Avatar
Ed Wimberley Ed Wimberley is offline
95 WB 42
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Perry Georgia
Posts: 2,925
Default

50 amp 2 pole GFCI's are required for hot tubs where I live in Ga
Buy box and breaker together.
NOT for Birds , Birds usually don't play well with GFCI'S
__________________
edwimberley@hotmail.com

1995 WB 42 Series 60
Perry Georgia
770-548-1441 cell
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-24-2018
keen keen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Geneva
Posts: 99
Default

I'll agree with what's already been said - you need a breaker box and a breaker that match, and that aren't roached...

And you really dont want a GFCI breaker in there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankK View Post
Why does the new breaker have three loads at the back?
that center lug is the neutral. but send it back.
__________________
david raistrick
Geneva, Florida
1987 PT40 8v92 FOR SALE!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50AMP Shore Power Cord Repair/Replacement iamflagman Electrical 93 06-16-2019 08:25 PM
Generator breaker Andre M380 (Unique Issues) 7 07-06-2016 10:12 PM
Circuit Breaker (Automatic Reset) Replacement Kev Electrical 8 01-13-2016 11:18 AM
generator issue, tripping a breaker teamf4 General 36 05-29-2015 07:19 AM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.