Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > 'Bird Projects & Modifications

'Bird Projects & Modifications Share with us that latest project or modification that you have done to your 'Bird right here.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 04-12-2008
DonB's Avatar
DonB DonB is offline
Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eureka
Posts: 4,350
Default

I did move the VMSpc from my previous SOB to my 90 PT40. Leroy and I jointly worked out the necessary wiring, since you can't get a proper plug connector for a DDEC-II. VMSpc won't work with DDEC-I.

I use a Radio Shack USB-to-Serial convertor, one that has been found more compatible than most for many such applications.

I run both VMSpc and Street Atlas USA on the same laptop. I used to run VMSpc across the bottom of the screen, covering some info that is less-than essential. Now that I have a wide-screen laptop I run VMSpc vertically on the left, with SA using the majority of the screen.
__________________
Don Bradner
Current: No RV at this time
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Prior: 2004 M380 Double Slide
Prior: 1990 WB40 "Blue Thunder"
My location: www.bbirdmaps.com/user2.cfm?user=1
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-14-2008
Bumpersbird's Avatar
Bumpersbird Bumpersbird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fayetteville
Posts: 2,186
Default Silverleaf VMSpc Screen Cloning

Silverleaf VMSpc Screen Cloning

To maximize the usefulness of the VMSpc Silverleaf I have a 7" inch touch screen monitor mounted on the top center of the dash the laptop is in front of the passenger seat, It is almost perfect, A slight glance and I have more Inf. than I really need. Very COOL! When I first installed it. It mirrored the laptop, but after several days use it stopped doing this and went to expanded screen mode.

I liked the fact that the laptop and the 7" were in sync. I ran the VMSpc and Streets and Trips on one screen and have both programs running at the same time. It’s set up as follows, click maximized on either program for a full screen view or click minimize on either program and 1/3 of the scene on the left has all the vital engine and speed gauges and the right 2/3 of the screen has the GPS and route tracking. It is set on rotate to coincided with the direction I’m driving, very easy to follow when your driving. Very good set up, and in clone mode the CO-pilot & passengers have the same Inf. As the driver. One draw back is if your CO-pilot has a tendency to help in anything other than directions it’s hard to hide how fast your going.

As an expanded desktop it isn’t good for the passengers to view or help navigate and it will not run Streets and trips independently in the expanded screen mode, if I try to open it independently to each screen it will not function. It won’t find the com. port for the GPS puck

I have been using it this way for several months now. Today I decided to fix this problem.

Well after a search for a solution and finding a lot of B.S. mostly gamer, graphic art, and presentation software and video card stuff that wasn’t applicable to my problem or budget, I ran across a three sentence explanation on how to do this. It’s simple, and it works perfectly.

Here is how to Clone or Mirror the two monitors.

Fn + F8 (CRT/LCD) functions

On the F8 key, you will notice a blue CRT/LCD marking. By holding down the blue Fn key at the bottom left of the keyboard and pressing F8, you can change to which screen to send the output. Each time you hold Fn and press F8, you cycle through the options in the Output To list.

The first cycle on my laptop remains as is. The second cycle moves the desktop to the second monitor and the first monitor goes blank. The third cycling of the CRT/LCD key both monitors function in clone mode the are the mirror image of each other and they are both fully functional. The touch screen works by touching or using the touch pad on the laptop or with a mouse. The laptop is also fully functional.

Two other notes on the VMSpc: It would sometime freeze up when I would maximize the Streets and Trips screen then return to the VMSpc program. I would have to restart the VMSpc program. The fix for this is on the VMSpc toolbar.

Click on ADVANCED when the window opens click on the box marked AutoRestart then click OK. The program will run flawlessly no matter what you open on top of it. When you go back to it. It will be running.

The second and I think very important is that the powers to be at Silverleaf have finally added the 470HP version of the Series 60 engine paramiters to the list of engine types. It will be interesting to see the diffrence in data from the old recommended 500HP setting.

You can find the new programe here.

http://www.silverleafelectronics.com/?q=node/270

The best things in life are simple!

__________________________________________________ ________

Kurt Horvath
95 PT 42
10AC
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-06-2010
Bravo Bravo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Point
Posts: 127
Default

On a 1997 Wanderlodge, where would you find the engine diagnostic connector for the Series 60? Anyone have a picture of one?
__________________
Rod (aka Bravo)
Indiana
97 WB41 (Helga)
Series 60 DD
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-06-2010
White Hat Guy's Avatar
White Hat Guy White Hat Guy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oneonta
Posts: 2,638
Default Vehicle Management System Personal Computer (VMSPC)

All, I have looked at them and even joined their forum. The system seems a little high for me and my OEM gauges seems to be pretty good, but I would like to have some redundancy. I do wish it had transmission monitoring capability for my tranny - the Silverleaf rep said it didn't (unless they've made some changes in the last several months).

I would however buy one if we can get a group rate and y'all can help this techno-challenged lawyer get it installed and running.
__________________
Tommy and Martha Rountree
1994 WLWB 40/2001 Honda CRV
FMCA #F31522
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-06-2010
WTarrier's Avatar
WTarrier WTarrier is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 456
Default

on our 96, the connector is under the transmission selector buttons. An easier way to reach it is to remove the remote mirror controls and reach back in. It is a large gray connector. You may need to reach WAY back in, ours was tucked way back amongst the wiring.
__________________
Bill & Ann Tarrier
1996 WB WL
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-06-2010
Lodgerhead Lodgerhead is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 70
Default

I am going to put a floscan on mine. I have had them on every boat I have ever owned and they pay for themselves pretty quick in fuel savings on a boat.
__________________
Dave
Greensboro, NC
1990 36SP
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-06-2010
cmillsap
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Dupree View Post
i want one of the systems,anybody else want one?
Randy
Randy,

Do you have the DD Pro Driver monitoring system on your coach?

Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-06-2010
cmillsap
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravo View Post
On a 1997 Wanderlodge, where would you find the engine diagnostic connector for the Series 60? Anyone have a picture of one?
The connector is under the dash on the drivers left leg side near the firewall on my coach. Ye gotta get way down low with a flash light to find it. May not be the same on your coach as Bluebird worked hard to make each coach a little different.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-06-2010
Randy Dupree's Avatar
Randy Dupree Randy Dupree is offline
Forum owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port St Joe,Fl
Posts: 35,891
Default

i do have a pro driver on this coach.
__________________
DO NOT SEND PM
email me at randy@randydupree.com only.

Randy Dupree
2000 LXI 43
Bainbridge,Ga.
Port St Joe Fl.
www.buybyebluebird.com

randy@randydupree.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-06-2010
Stephen Stephen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 3,346
Default

do you have a pro driver

Must be Carol

hehehe
__________________
Have a Great Day
Stephen Birtles
97BMC37

Email stephen@dupreeproducts.com
www.dupreeproducts.com
Telephone 888 668 4288
cell 716 220 1267
Please use email or telephone to contact
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.