Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-07-2019
kg4rrx's Avatar
kg4rrx kg4rrx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Fayetteville
Posts: 624
Default 1987 FC inverter/charger replacement

I'm looking at what I need to replace my PACS and battery chargers while at WOG. Of course, the original setup is two separate units and I am replacing it with one Magnum MS2012.

Where in my 120v circuit is the inverter being placed? Magnum diagrams have it going from a 30a breaker from the electric panel to a separate subpanel with the 120V outlets. Because I am just replacing an inverter one for one do I need to run extra wires? I was thinking... does it go from the transfer switch -> to the inverter -> to the panel? If I just swap it into the current location without changing anything else will the battery charger function work?
__________________
Chris Henry
Fayetteville, GA
87FC
kg4rrx@gmail.com 404-547-1951
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2019
Bill Pape's Avatar
Bill Pape Bill Pape is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Commerce
Posts: 11,397
Default

seems like the best location would be the bay with the PAC,
inverter feeds a 15 amp AC circuit. the charger is in a different bay.
But battery cables are available at the inverter. I chose to have separate charger & inverter, then replaced them one for one. Also if you can spare the
space keep the original charger in place as a backup
__________________
Bill & Patty
1988 FC, Silver Edition
Commerce, Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2019
Rick's Avatar
Rick Rick is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bellefonte
Posts: 13,225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kg4rrx View Post
I'm looking at what I need to replace my PACS and battery chargers while at WOG. Of course, the original setup is two separate units and I am replacing it with one Magnum MS2012.

Where in my 120v circuit is the inverter being placed? Magnum diagrams have it going from a 30a breaker from the electric panel to a separate subpanel with the 120V outlets. Because I am just replacing an inverter one for one do I need to run extra wires? I was thinking... does it go from the transfer switch -> to the inverter -> to the panel? If I just swap it into the current location without changing anything else will the battery charger function work?
Yes it will. You can further enhance the AC side, if need be, later.
__________________
Rick Shawver
1SG Ret
2000 LX
Vise Grips
Bellefonte, AR
F127656
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2019
atckip's Avatar
atckip atckip is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Brooks
Posts: 2,878
Default

It should be a straight swap with different cable lengths and ends to replace it as a stock setup. I think that is very minimal output. One outlet, the TV, curtains. I would figure out how to wire it so the whole coach works on the inverter.......unless the FC's batteries won't support it.
__________________
Kip Henry
95 WB42 S-60
88 WB40 2010/14
Brooks, GA
Kip Cindy & Cody
678-523-7920
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2019
FredNewell FredNewell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fortuna
Posts: 348
Default

A before and after photo would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________
Fred & Glenda Newell
Fortuna, CA
1989 FC35
1993 Automate FW SOLD
1984 Toyota Dolphin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2019
kg4rrx's Avatar
kg4rrx kg4rrx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Fayetteville
Posts: 624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FredNewell View Post
A before and after photo would be appreciated. Thanks.
Being as this will done at Pine Mountain (hopefully) and with all the great electric minds of WOG on tap (hopefully) we'll use this thread a 'notes' section for late model FCs.
__________________
Chris Henry
Fayetteville, GA
87FC
kg4rrx@gmail.com 404-547-1951
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2019
kg4rrx's Avatar
kg4rrx kg4rrx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Fayetteville
Posts: 624
Default

It would be nice to have all outlets available while walmart parking. Other than that- I'm running the generator 90% of the time anyway.
__________________
Chris Henry
Fayetteville, GA
87FC
kg4rrx@gmail.com 404-547-1951
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2019
kg4rrx's Avatar
kg4rrx kg4rrx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Fayetteville
Posts: 624
Default

https://www.magnum-dimensions.com/re...abletable12vdc

According to this chart here I believe I should be gettting some 2/0 battery cable. If I am just running one new set to the batteries- I'm guessing its probably going to be about 5-6 feet. 1/0 should work but 2/0 is what all my cables are anyway and I want to have some extra because I've already learned how hard it is to find 00 wire on a Friday night. So 25' should be enough?
__________________
Chris Henry
Fayetteville, GA
87FC
kg4rrx@gmail.com 404-547-1951
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2019
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atckip View Post
It should be a straight swap with different cable lengths and ends to replace it as a stock setup. I think that is very minimal output. One outlet, the TV, curtains. I would figure out how to wire it so the whole coach works on the inverter.......unless the FC's batteries won't support it.
Since someone else brought up using this as a notes section, how would you wire it up to run the whole coach.

I’m looking at adding solar and expanding my battery reserves.
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-08-2019
Clueless Clueless is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 1,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pape View Post
seems like the best location would be the bay with the PAC,
inverter feeds a 15 amp AC circuit. the charger is in a different bay.
But battery cables are available at the inverter. I chose to have separate charger & inverter, then replaced them one for one. Also if you can spare the
space keep the original charger in place as a backup
Does the PACS bay have a 120 volt 20 amp feed from the main breaker panel?
__________________
David Styf
82 FC 33 SB SOLD
89 SP 36 Silver Edition SOLD
96 WB
Valparaiso, In./Baldwin, Mi.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter/Charger thoughts toolmaker Electrical 26 04-29-2019 11:57 PM
Choices - New Inverter / charger combo, or New Smart Charger Debugjaws Electrical 11 11-19-2017 02:05 PM
Inverter/Charger Earthwalker Electrical 40 08-31-2017 07:03 AM
What inverter / charger to buy? kylep9 Electrical 18 11-05-2015 12:53 PM
Dual charger/inverter replacement questions martyspaulding Electrical 20 09-25-2010 10:36 AM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.