Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Vehicle Issues

Vehicle Issues Frequently asked questions about vehicles, parts, maintenance, and troubleshooting

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-09-2010
atckip's Avatar
atckip atckip is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Brooks
Posts: 2,958
Default Antenna wiring

I'm replacing the head on my TV anntenna. The old antenna is working but not as strong signal I had on my last camper. The new unit came with new wiring cable and I was going to replace the 22 year old wire with the new. My problem is running the new wire. I guess the old wire is secured somehow. It looks like I have to remove a roof panel to access it and I going to pass on that job. Any suggestions? Thanks
__________________
Kip Henry
95 WB42 S-60
88 WB40 2010/14
Brooks, GA
Kip Cindy & Cody
678-523-7920
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2010
Stephen Stephen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 3,352
Default

I think if you look closely you will find you can access the hole in the roof from a overhead bin if not use a snake or tape the new wire to the old and pull it through
it is usually close to the edge of a roof panel
then run the wiring down the raceway to the front of the coach
__________________
Have a Great Day
Stephen Birtles
97BMC37

Email stephen@dupreeproducts.com
www.dupreeproducts.com
Telephone 888 668 4288
cell 716 220 1267 or 905 246 4295
Please use email or telephone to contact
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2010
atckip's Avatar
atckip atckip is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Brooks
Posts: 2,958
Default

I'll look tomorrow more closely at theoverhead bin. I looked before but it looked like it must run across the roof starting above the switches overhead of the passenger seat and I dont see anyway of accessing it without dismanteling a bunch of the ceiling. I was hoping to connect it to the old wire and pulling it thru but it's tight. I think it's clamped somewhere. Is there a way to test the old coaxial to see if it needs replaced. I know it was passing signal before I was just going to replace it because I have new wire. Maybe I'm over engineering this project.
__________________
Kip Henry
95 WB42 S-60
88 WB40 2010/14
Brooks, GA
Kip Cindy & Cody
678-523-7920
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2010
warbucks13477's Avatar
warbucks13477 warbucks13477 is offline
Senior
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vernon Center
Posts: 1,302
Default

Kip I believe you will find a port (over by the goat rail) in the roof that leads into the antenna selector switch in a side uppper bay. Just replace the tv cable and pull it down thru. I have done on both my previous 1982 FC35 and present 1985 PT40.
__________________
Tom Warner
Vernon Center,NY
1985 PT40 SOLD
6V92
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UHF/VHF TV Antenna Rob Robinson General 26 03-28-2013 12:29 PM
CB Antenna White Hat Guy General 2 05-07-2010 10:34 AM
CB Antenna rbbuscher Vehicle Issues 9 01-17-2010 11:16 AM
Antenna Will Not Come Down chaaur General 2 01-01-2009 04:59 PM
TV antenna gcyeaw General 24 09-08-2008 10:22 AM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.