Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > FC (Forward Control Unique Issues)

FC (Forward Control Unique Issues) If you have a unique issue with your FC model coach and it can't be answered in one of the other forums here, then this is where you can list it.......List your FC Parts here too.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-14-2020
CrashTestDummy's Avatar
CrashTestDummy CrashTestDummy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Pearland
Posts: 372
Default Decent replacement door bell unit?

Was looking for a suitable place to mount the CO detector we purchased with our replacement smoke detector. The smoke detector is mounted on the wall to the right of the dining table opposite the kitchen.

To the left of that unit, also hanging on the wall, appears to be an old, battery-powered door bell unit. It's an old Radio Shack unit (Archer). It looks okay, but the wall unit was disconnected from the door bell wires, and the batteries were removed. Worse, still, it looks like the ground wire from the battery holder back to the ringer unit is completely missing.

I couldn't see a spot where that wire might have been connected to on the circuit board, and the board is glued to the housing. I can bring it into the house, and put it under better light and magnification, but haven't done that yet. The door bell button itself needs replacing. 40 years of sun and weather have not been good to it. So use, or not, I'll at least replace the outside unit if only for a nicer look.

I've searched here, and not found anything obvious, and searched online, but haven't found anything that's not either a ~$300+ remote camera 'smart' unit, or a battery-powered unit that requires C-cell batteries. The one in our bus uses 2 AA-cell batteries. Has anyone found any decent options? If we can find something nice, we'll probably replace it. If not, people can knock, or push the inop button.
__________________
Gene Beaird
Pearland, Texas
1980 FC35 3208NA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2020
bobbiemartin bobbiemartin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 91
Default

I'm pretty sure the original BB doorbells were DC, I'm guessing so they would work without shore or generator power. I used a inexpensive house doorbell kit. It came with a transformer that requires 110 volts. It only works when you have 110, but how often do you need a doorbell when you don't have 110? I located the transformer behind the side panel and ran a 110 wire from a nearby receptacle to the transformer. Changed out the doorbell switch, a little rewiring and it works great. Plus the doorbell switch lights up!
__________________
Bobbie Martin
Jacksonville, Florida
1990 SP36
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2020
CrashTestDummy's Avatar
CrashTestDummy CrashTestDummy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Pearland
Posts: 372
Default

The wiring from the button is just that, wiring from the button outside. There's no power through them, and there's only two wires coming through the wall. I was hoping to not have to deal with rewiring anything, and certainly not wanting to mess with the 110V -> 10V transformer that most residential door bells use. The mostly use energy to make heat.

Without power, how is someone going to ring the doorbell when you're going down the highway?!? I mean, how are they going to check to see if you have any Grey Poupon you can loan them?!?
__________________
Gene Beaird
Pearland, Texas
1980 FC35 3208NA

Last edited by CrashTestDummy; 09-14-2020 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2020
bobbiemartin bobbiemartin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashTestDummy View Post
Without power, how is someone going to ring the doorbell when you're going down the highway?!? I mean, how are they going to check to see if you have any Grey Poupon you can loan them?!?
Inverter!
__________________
Bobbie Martin
Jacksonville, Florida
1990 SP36
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
CrashTestDummy's Avatar
CrashTestDummy CrashTestDummy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Pearland
Posts: 372
Default

Tried resoldering the ground wire to the circuit board and battery contact, but that was a fail. It's been binned, as was the mount. I cut the door bell button wires off flush with the wall, and that location is now the location for our new CO detector. My wife reminded me that if someone actually rang the doorbell, it would probably be like here at the house, and we'd just let the pups bark at the door while we ignored it.



I'll try to find a nice replacement button on the outside to replace the badly-weathered unit we have, but it will be inop.
__________________
Gene Beaird
Pearland, Texas
1980 FC35 3208NA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC Door Bell Chime Button | Baldwin 9BR7015 WanderScott FC (Forward Control Unique Issues) 1 09-09-2020 11:14 AM
Door Bell djlcanuck Electrical 6 08-22-2019 08:32 AM
Rear musical door bell box i_ralley Parts Wanted 6 12-09-2017 09:52 PM
Door Bell teamf4 General 46 11-01-2015 12:29 PM
Door bell rings with lights pairodice Electrical 12 03-19-2013 08:03 PM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.