Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > General

General Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach that are not covered in other Mechanic's Corner categories (ex. refrigerators, water heaters, and compressors).

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-20-2020
djlcanuck djlcanuck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coleville
Posts: 271
Default Princess LPG cook top

Lets try this one more time before I throw it out the door.
My bird has a 2 burner Princess Gas cook top.
I can not get it to stay on.
I have read all the posts I can find.
I have replaced the Knobs
I have Cleaned the burner ports and sanded the bimetal strip
When I push down on the knob and turn it to the light position it may or may not start to spark. Regardless I can light it with a lighter and I then hold down the knob for 3 to 5 minutes and once in 10 times it might stay lit when I release the knob.
If anyone has ideas on how to fix this please let me know.
If there is not a fix please let me know what gas cooktop you haves replaced this piece of **** with.

Thanks as always, sorry for sounding so down, but the wife says if I don't get this fixed I don't eat!
__________________
Doug Long
Coleville, SK
96 WB42
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2020
Crit Bliss's Avatar
Crit Bliss Crit Bliss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,642
Default

Looking at their literature the "flame failure device" jumped out. I'm guessing that its something similar to a pilot thermocoupler, maybe electric instead of mechanical?
__________________
Crit Bliss
'80FC33
250T
Cape Cod,ma
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2020
Dieselbird01's Avatar
Dieselbird01 Dieselbird01 is offline
John Wyatt – Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Titusville
Posts: 4,398
Default

Assuming you have plenty of propane in the tank and the manual valve (if you have a manual valve) is fully open, it might be worth cycling the propane master a few times to make sure the solenoid is opening and closing properly.
__________________
John Wyatt
Titusville, Florida
1991 40' WLWB-WTB
Body Number F095567
My Location: http://www.bbirdmaps.com/user1.cfm?user=4

1991 40' WB ...From 2008 - Present
1984 ½ PT-36 .From 2000 - 2008
1973 FC-31 .....From 1991 - 2001

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2020
Captain Fred's Avatar
Captain Fred Captain Fred is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Boston
Posts: 555
Default

i know this may sound condescending and I don't mean it to but do the furnaces work ?
__________________
Fred Penney
Boston, Massachusetts
1987FC35SB "Lobster Inn"
2015 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Dieselbird01's Avatar
Dieselbird01 Dieselbird01 is offline
John Wyatt – Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Titusville
Posts: 4,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Fred View Post
i know this may sound condescending and I don't mean it to but do the furnaces work ?
Not likely to find propane furnaces on a 96 WB.
__________________
John Wyatt
Titusville, Florida
1991 40' WLWB-WTB
Body Number F095567
My Location: http://www.bbirdmaps.com/user1.cfm?user=4

1991 40' WB ...From 2008 - Present
1984 ½ PT-36 .From 2000 - 2008
1973 FC-31 .....From 1991 - 2001

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Mikenjackie's Avatar
Mikenjackie Mikenjackie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Full-timing
Posts: 628
Default

If you don't get it working, have you considered an induction cooktop? Since we got ours a couple of years ago, we haven't used the propane one. I love the instant response, going from rolling boil to simmer takes just a few seconds instead of minutes with a radiant electric top, & from cold to boiling is around 45 seconds for a quart of water, but the big winner for us is that it doesn't heat the bus up in summer like the propane one did. The only down side would be if you had aluminum cookware, but you can get inserts to make them work with induction tops. If you a ton of boondocking, you'd have to run the genny if you used it a lot; ours is rated at 1.8Kw so it's gonna be pulling around 150 amps from your battery bank.
__________________
Mike & Jackie Williams
Full timing it!
385-477-9780, ibmfixer@msn.com
"Retirement Bird" 1997 43WB
"Silver Shadow"1988 PT-40 Concept Coach - Sold!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
djlcanuck djlcanuck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coleville
Posts: 271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dieselbird01 View Post
Assuming you have plenty of propane in the tank and the manual valve (if you have a manual valve) is fully open, it might be worth cycling the propane master a few times to make sure the solenoid is opening and closing properly.
Propane is good and on as the fridge runs on LPG all the time and the burners have good flame so long as I hold the knob down
__________________
Doug Long
Coleville, SK
96 WB42
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
djlcanuck djlcanuck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coleville
Posts: 271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Fred View Post
i know this may sound condescending and I don't mean it to but do the furnaces work ?
Sorry we have Aqua hot. The cook top would probably work if is was diesel
__________________
Doug Long
Coleville, SK
96 WB42
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
djlcanuck djlcanuck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coleville
Posts: 271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikenjackie View Post
If you don't get it working, have you considered an induction cooktop? Since we got ours a couple of years ago, we haven't used the propane one. I love the instant response, going from rolling boil to simmer takes just a few seconds instead of minutes with a radiant electric top, & from cold to boiling is around 45 seconds for a quart of water, but the big winner for us is that it doesn't heat the bus up in summer like the propane one did. The only down side would be if you had aluminum cookware, but you can get inserts to make them work with induction tops. If you a ton of boondocking, you'd have to run the genny if you used it a lot; ours is rated at 1.8Kw so it's gonna be pulling around 150 amps from your battery bank.
Thought about it as all the kids have them in their houses. But we don't wants to buy all new pots as they have to be magnetic. The wife loves here copper plated stuff. The other issue it burning genny or battery power to cook. Maybe after we do solar. Right now I just want to get cooking with gas
__________________
Doug Long
Coleville, SK
96 WB42
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
bwinter1946's Avatar
bwinter1946 bwinter1946 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Madera
Posts: 4,347
Default

On my Princess Cooktop the colder the bus is inside the longer I have to hold the buttons down to keep the burners lit. My guess would be a thermocouple that is going bad or was displaced during cleaning.
__________________
Brad Winter
Madera, California
1997, 37' BMC
1999, Jeep Cherokee, Toad
1970, VW Baja Bug, Alternate Toad
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spark the princess up?? djlcanuck General 2 07-29-2020 12:43 PM
Princess stove top won't light Russell Marlowe M380 (Unique Issues) 6 06-06-2020 05:29 PM
Princess Stovetop Flyfisher Vehicle Issues 20 05-30-2016 12:32 AM
Cook Top HELP! jim11dd General 15 03-18-2011 07:49 AM
Cook Top Bill Pape General 5 11-16-2009 09:33 PM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.