Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 09-26-2013
curtsprenger's Avatar
curtsprenger curtsprenger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 3,862
Default

Go back to post #1 and read/follow. Test the voltage, engine running, then make your decision.
__________________
Curt Sprenger
1987 PT38 8V92 "MacAttack Racing"
1974 FC31 534 gas engine, air brakes (sold)
Anaheim Hills, Calif.
Do Not Send PM (Private Messages) Please
curtsprenger@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-27-2013
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pape View Post
Yep check the voltage, relays may be located just forward of the foot pedals,
but can only be seen behind the grill & inspection panel.
i checked the voltage 11.4 with the low beam 9.8 with the high, I am pretty sure I need to do upgrade?

Wheres a good place to wire in the relays to do the least amount of wiring ?

Or how are the lights wired can I tap in by the drivers feet near the PMMI boxes or near the house battery's on that load bar under the driver ?
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35

Last edited by Steelwheels; 09-27-2013 at 07:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-28-2013
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,267
Default

Whats the purpose of this load bar ?

Can I put the relays in here and maintain the existing wires to the head lights ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	under driver.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	102.8 KB
ID:	25026  
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-29-2013
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birds_first View Post
I don't think you need to do a relay upgrade on the headlights, I think it was done at the factory, at least it was on my 88.

I think you may have been right. I don't see where the relays are mounted, and my voltage to my headlights isn't great.

Has anyone had to do a relay upgrade on a 87 fc35, can you tell by the type of headlight switch if you need to upgrade ?
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-30-2013
Clueless Clueless is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 1,993
Default

I've done it on an 82. If the wire from the switch to the headlight is continuous (you can check resistance or use a toner) when the switch is off, you have no relays.

Maybe that FC needs to get out. Bring it over, I think I have a vacancy right now.
__________________
David Styf
82 FC 33 SB SOLD
89 SP 36 Silver Edition SOLD
96 WB
Valparaiso, In./Baldwin, Mi.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-30-2013
sfedeli's Avatar
sfedeli sfedeli is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hershey
Posts: 3,191
Default

The relay(s) need to be as close to the fixtures as possible. I mounted my headlight relays above each set of headlights where the wiring to each fixture originates, then ran 10 ga. 12 volt red wires to each pair of relays from the main breaker bar in the front access panel. Some use a single relay for both low beams and another for the high beams. I chose to use a relay for each fixture, so that if one fails, I will still have the other side.

In the back of the coach, I used the same setup, but sealed the relays with a large amount of silicone caulk after the wiring was all tested and confirmed. This keeps moisture from corroding the contacts inside the relays. After 9 years, there has only been one failure- and it was a relay up front that I had forgotten to seal with the silicone.

The style of headlight switch does not matter- but upon inspection, you may find that yours has become brittle from the heat on the contacts and needs to be replaced.
__________________
Shane Fedeli
85PT40
Hershey, PA

"Savor the wine of youth, for it is a drink that can be consumed only once”
shanefedeli@gmail.com
717-645-4912
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-30-2013
Randy Dupree's Avatar
Randy Dupree Randy Dupree is offline
Forum owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port St Joe,Fl
Posts: 35,626
Default

I do it like shanes does,a relay for every light,4 relays,4 headlights.
My thinking was this,if Carols driving at night,and a relay goes bad and the lights go out,i don't want her freaking out,trying to find the dimmer switch etc.
__________________
DO NOT SEND PM
email me at randy@randydupree.com only.

Randy Dupree
2000 LXI 43
Bainbridge,Ga.
Port St Joe Fl.
www.buybyebluebird.com

randy@randydupree.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-30-2013
dlefty's Avatar
dlefty dlefty is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Somers
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steelwheels View Post
I think you may have been right. I don't see where the relays are mounted, and my voltage to my headlights isn't great.

Has anyone had to do a relay upgrade on a 87 fc35, can you tell by the type of headlight switch if you need to upgrade ?
Kiki, I added 4 relays to my headlights. I did this mod back in 2004 so my memory might be off. But I believe I put the relays above the headlights behind the grill. My coach did not have the relays. Wanderlodge added them in mid 87.
__________________

Best Regards,
Dan Leftwich
Somers NY
1987 35FC
"BaBar"
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-30-2013
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clueless View Post
I've done it on an 82. If the wire from the switch to the headlight is continuous (you can check resistance or use a toner) when the switch is off, you have no relays.

Maybe that FC needs to get out. Bring it over, I think I have a vacancy right now.
Hey, I didn't realise you were right in the neighbourhood.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Dupree View Post
I do it like shanes does,a relay for every light,4 relays,4 headlights.
My thinking was this,if Carols driving at night,and a relay goes bad and the lights go out,i don't want her freaking out,trying to find the dimmer switch etc.
Thanks Randy, very good advice. Ill follow the method Shane laid out. The advice of think of thinking of your wife and her needs, priceless. I should start asking for relationship advice from you guys.
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-30-2013
bubblerboy64 bubblerboy64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Shippensburg Pa
Posts: 6,839
Default

Relationship advice? Yep we're up for that. We have a couple specialists for those questions.

Just ask away.
__________________

John Heckman
Shippensburg Pa
1987 PT 36
The Bella Mia Sold
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No headlights low or high beam, yellow running lights work oldfishhook Electrical 8 06-27-2009 09:45 PM
faulty taillights lonestar382 Electrical 7 02-15-2009 01:31 AM
82 BB FC rear clear parking/backup lights 444433 Electrical 12 07-08-2008 11:38 PM
Head light upgrade for Ford F150 lights Bikeboy57 'Bird Projects & Modifications 5 04-02-2008 09:01 AM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.