Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > 'Bird Projects & Modifications

'Bird Projects & Modifications Share with us that latest project or modification that you have done to your 'Bird right here.

Site Search:

Old 09-23-2008

Default Wild idea or not, rear porch for atv/Smart

I've posted a similar topic on the WanderlodgeForum Yahoo group, so apologies if you see it twice. My charming significant other is warming to the idea of a BB coach (to combine the best features of her Winnebago and my 4WD Tahoe + 25' Airstream) so we've been researching things for a couple of years now. She's got her heart set on some way to carry a runabout car inside the coach or some other way than towing it. She's driven schoolbuses and big trailers before, so that's not a problem, she just wants to have it all and inside a package that isn't too long.

I'm an engineer and work with other engineers so getting the structural details right once we start doing a design is certainly possible (and, responding to another post I saw here some time ago, I'm the kind of engineer who can tell you not only why it works but why it's stopped working...!). But if someone has already done this, I sure would like to know about it.

I am focusing on later model FCs, and the original idea was to install a toybox door in the back wall with a loading ramp, and set up the bed to pull up to the roof, like the Safari Trek. We have a few floorplans, and a Smart car would fit inside if we modified some of the closets. Structural drawings on these older coaches are hard to come by, so I've only recently realized that this isn't going to work unless we also relocate all the tanks and heaters that are under the bed.