Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-01-2017
GregBryantSr's Avatar
GregBryantSr GregBryantSr is offline
Tired and now Retired!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 1,244
Default Lost 12 volts

Last night we lost 12 volt power. Gauges on dash show 13+ volts, AT switch toggled to make sure it was ok. Master Electric switch toggled. From another post I pulled the 2 green wires from 63. Put one back and no click. Put the other on a spare, 61, and it does click. Looked for the 200 amp fuse referenced but could not find it. Both legs of 120 meter correctly. However AC does not work. Fortunately we were able to go into Rebecca's sisters house for the night. It is 90 degrees here. Any help would be appreciated. I will add my phone to my signature.
__________________
Greg Bryant
2018 Roadtrek CS Adventurous (B-Hemoth)
Green Cove Springs, FL.
GregBryantSr@gmail.com
(904) 612-3878 (Leave msg if I don't know your number)
Where is B-Hemoth?
Map of Service Centers
Map of RV Parks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2017
brhodes's Avatar
brhodes brhodes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Port St. Lucie
Posts: 1,706
Default

My Master DC 200 amp contactor is mounted high inside the generator radiator fan bay, not sure the location of yours. May want to see if you have DC power on both side of it.
If I turn it off, I have no 12 volt DC power for the HVAC thermostats.
__________________
Barry & Mary Rhodes
Port St. Lucie, FL.
1990 WB 40 "Northern Lights"
Body #F92929
brhodes51@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2017
rshrimp rshrimp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Myakka City
Posts: 1,518
Default

Sounds like you lost a 12v master continuous duty relay. Find them (My bus has 2) and check for 12v on both sides of the bigger wires. If power only on one side you can move the big wire from one side to the other bypassing the relay. (temp fix)
The AC units need 12v as well as 110v to operate.
__________________
Randy and Sonya Shrimplin
FMCA# F457849
Livin' the dream, next door to the Drysdale's in Beverly Hills FL!
Birdless for now.
RShrimp@Yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2017
GregBryantSr's Avatar
GregBryantSr GregBryantSr is offline
Tired and now Retired!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 1,244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brhodes View Post
My Master DC 200 amp contactor is mounted high inside the generator radiator fan bay, not sure the location of yours. May want to see if you have DC power on both side of it.
If I turn it off, I have no 12 volt DC power for the HVAC thermostats.
Barry,
I text George Morris and he called back and agrees with you. I will have to wait till my brother in law gets home and let him bypass the 200 amp.

Randy,
If this does not work I will try your suggestion.

Thank you both for your help!!
__________________
Greg Bryant
2018 Roadtrek CS Adventurous (B-Hemoth)
Green Cove Springs, FL.
GregBryantSr@gmail.com
(904) 612-3878 (Leave msg if I don't know your number)
Where is B-Hemoth?
Map of Service Centers
Map of RV Parks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2017
GregBryantSr's Avatar
GregBryantSr GregBryantSr is offline
Tired and now Retired!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 1,244
Default

Linking the wires together worked.
Thanks to everyone!!!
__________________
Greg Bryant
2018 Roadtrek CS Adventurous (B-Hemoth)
Green Cove Springs, FL.
GregBryantSr@gmail.com
(904) 612-3878 (Leave msg if I don't know your number)
Where is B-Hemoth?
Map of Service Centers
Map of RV Parks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2017
Dieselbird01's Avatar
Dieselbird01 Dieselbird01 is offline
John Wyatt – Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Titusville
Posts: 3,963
Default

Hi Greg,

Just to be sure that the 12 Volt Master Solenoid was the problem and not a symptom, you might want to make sure the coach will start (if you haven't already).
__________________
John Wyatt
Titusville, Florida
1991 40' WLWB-WTB
Body Number F095567
My Location: http://www.bbirdmaps.com/user1.cfm?user=4

1991 40' WB ...From 2008 - Present
1984 ½ PT-36 .From 2000 - 2008
1973 FC-31 .....From 1991 - 2001
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2017
rshrimp rshrimp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Myakka City
Posts: 1,518
Default

My take on those relays is this. Unless you store the bus without power connected, you don't need them.
Mine are on 24-7 so what's the point?
They use power, they get hot .... really hot!
Unless you store unplugged ..., Bypass them and be done with it.

My coach has 3 of them.

Two are controlled by the 12v master switch. These are the ones I am suggesting you bypass.

One is controlled by the ign switch. You need this one.
__________________
Randy and Sonya Shrimplin
FMCA# F457849
Livin' the dream, next door to the Drysdale's in Beverly Hills FL!
Birdless for now.
RShrimp@Yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-2017
toolmaker toolmaker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hot Springs National Park
Posts: 585
Default

I carry 2 of these Cole Hersee 200 amp continuous duty solenoids.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170702_085033.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	198.4 KB
ID:	49746  
__________________
Paul Cambron
Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas
1996 BMC 40
fmca 200288
eglider03@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-2017
halkading halkading is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Las Cruces
Posts: 89
Default

Randy,

"Unless you store unplugged ..., Bypass them and be done with it."

I normally store the coach without power and batteries disconnected. Do I need the relays? If so why?
__________________
Harold Kading
Las Cruces, NM
2003 LX 40
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-02-2017
rshrimp rshrimp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Myakka City
Posts: 1,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by halkading View Post
Randy,

"Unless you store unplugged ..., Bypass them and be done with it."

I normally store the coach without power and batteries disconnected. Do I need the relays? If so why?
If all Batts disconnected (house and eng) then NO
I think they are a fire hazard They get really hot!
__________________
Randy and Sonya Shrimplin
FMCA# F457849
Livin' the dream, next door to the Drysdale's in Beverly Hills FL!
Birdless for now.
RShrimp@Yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DC Volts/Amp Use Hoagie FC (Forward Control Unique Issues) 10 07-26-2013 11:59 AM
12 volts Rick Generators 6 01-23-2013 12:46 PM
1980 fc not showing 120 volts SBStratton Electrical 33 10-24-2012 11:10 AM
No 12 volts Flykitfox Vehicle Issues 4 12-05-2011 09:35 PM
WHO LET THE VOLTS OUT...WHO..WHO! iamflagman Electrical 8 10-26-2010 11:40 AM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.