Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > For Sale Or Wanted > Buying a Wanderlodge, a Bluebird or any RV

Buying a Wanderlodge, a Bluebird or any RV Ready to take the plunge or looking to upgrade and you have questions? Folks are standing by ready to help.

Site Search:

Old 04-04-2013

Default Should I Buy a Bird?

I have only posted on this forum a couple of times, but I have been poking around here for a few years now and feel that the time is right to dive into buying a Wanderlodge. I recently took a trip to California (from Cincinnati) to visit family, and realized that CA is the place for me. I'm in my mid 20s, no wife, kids, or career (yet) to tie me down. I've been toying with the idea of heading to CA and live full time in a coach there. During my stay I saw many RVs on the road and parked in various places, however from what I've read, an RV park would be the best fit for me as long as I find somewhere affordable. My question is: Is a Wanderlodge a good fit for this type of adventure? I'm a school bus driver, so I drive a Blue Bird every day and have always admired the Wanderlodge line as well as the following that it has. (I even have a Blue Bird tattoo!) Through my research I have found that quality is key..especially if you are full timing..and I know that is a major selling point of Birds. I'm just not sure if such a large investment will be worth it, especially adding in maintenance costs. Will I be bogged down maintaining all of the complicated systems of an old coach? Should I be looking at much less expensive vehicles? These are the questions I'm hoping to resolve before even browsing the classifieds to heavily.