Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > For Sale Or Wanted > How To Protect Your RV Investment.

How To Protect Your RV Investment. This forum is set up to discuss insurance needs, terminology & where to go to get the best possible coverage for your needs. From time to time we will discuss the issues and differences in insurance coverage. When would an appraisal be in your best interest & how often should you have an appraisal and where one could obtain a certified appraisal.

Site Search:

Old 08-05-2015

Default Trouble getting temporary binder of insurance to bring our new bird home - help?

I'm in a bit of a quandary in getting a temporary insurance binder to get our 'new to us' 78FC from OH to BC where we will be making our new home.

The complication goes something like this:

I am a Canadian citizen, born in BC, however for the last 15 years I have been a permanent resident of Australia. My Australian wife and I have purchased our BB and are taking possession in OH, with the intention of driving it back to the West Coast and importing it via Sumas border crossing into BC, where we will take up 'residence' at my sister's home as we intend to be full time travelling in our coach.

The Ohio BMV will not issue me with temporary tags unless I can provide evidence of insurance, fair enough.

The government monopoly insurer in BC (ICBC) will not provide me temporary insurance (i.e. binder) as I have not yet reestablished residency in BC.

Our Australian insurers simply will not even consider coverage for foreign vehicles overseas, full stop.

I am not a resident of OH or any other US state (as I am not a US Citizen) although I do have a Cel# and Postal Address in WA state (a mail forwarding outfit).