Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:

Old 11-16-2008

Default Where is the Battery Isolator on an 82 FC SB?

I am new to the world of Bluebird ownership, but on the other hand I am somewhat experienced with RV systems.

I have owned an 82 FC 33 SB Bluebird for just over a week. When I went to check out this unit, we needed to jump it to get it started for a test drive. The 4-6 volt batteries appeared to be quite new. When I picked it up a few days later, the previous owner had installed 4 new 6 volt batteries and these were big ones. They fit perfectly in the front left compartment with no room to spare.

Driving home, we didn't see any charge indication, and when we got home, the engine wouldn't turn over to restart. (I was glad for the new batteries, at least I made it home.)

Here is what I have found:
The drawings indicate a battery isolator with the Alternator and the Battery chargers attached to the center post.

With the battery chargers on, and the engine off, I get volts at the alternator output post (of course, the wires are supposedly hooked to the same post on the isolator), but no additional volts at the house or genset battery connections.

With the shore power disconnected, and the engine running, I get volts at the alternator output post, and no additional volts at the batteries.

So I guess I need to find the isolator now to check the battery terminals, and this is where I need to bring in the experts, and that's you guys.

On an 82 FC 33 SB Bluebird, where physically "should" one find the battery isolator?

Thanks in advance, and be ready for more stupid questions from a "Clueless" owner
96 WB
Valparaiso, In./Baldwin, Mi.
Old 11-16-2008
Gardner

David,