Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Takin' it Easy > Under The Awning

Under The Awning Here is where you can carry on a conversation, just like............well, like you were sitting under your awning at the campsite.

Site Search:

Old 08-23-2021

Default From 1967 Wanderlodge to Alaska's Brain Bus

First, thank you to WOG and its members. I have been on this website for over a month now and am very impressed by the kindness of members and incredible wealth of knowledge. I feel like I know some of you even though we have never met. I came here seeking information about Wanderlodges because I needed a vehicle to serve as a rolling medical clinic to serve Alaskan's with Traumatic Brain Injury. It needed to be simple, strong and big enough to house three clinicians and patients.

I am a family practice doctor specializing in treating brain injury and now, after 20 years of doing this out of my clinic, I decided I needed to do something more than see one patient at a time as they come to the clinic. Alaska has more folks with TBI than any other state and so few can get care. I have served on Non-Profit boards and State advisory committees set up to try to solve this problem over the years but we have made so little progress it is heart breaking.

The idea was to get a bus and convert it into a rolling clinic manned by volunteer clinicians to get care out into the under served areas of Alaska. While this is a low budget operation, there is a lot of passion. I have folks volunteering to help with the bus remodel and also to run the clinic. I am applying for grants and we have a GoFundMe set up to help fuel the bus (literally and figuratively). We will also have to do a bit of build out yet.