Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
WOG Gear

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 09-13-2018
Ldr Ldr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ishpeming
Posts: 41
Default

Here is a pic to show what I mean. Sorry, that's an awful picture, but you can still see what I mean by float vs accept. Keep in mind, the coach had been charging for days and not in use.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3446.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	25.7 KB
ID:	57768  
__________________
Lorin Riutta
Ishpeming, MI
1996 43'
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-13-2018
Rick's Avatar
Rick Rick is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bellefonte
Posts: 12,426
Default

It has been suggested you load test the batteries. Have you done that? How did they test out? What were the readings? Are all the house batteries equal?
__________________
Rick Shawver
1SG Ret
2000 LX
Vise Grips
Bellefonte, AR
F127656
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-14-2018
Ldr Ldr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ishpeming
Posts: 41
Default

I haven't load tested them yet. Any ideas how to load test each individual battery that is part of the bank of six? I can test the voltage of each one easily enough simply by disconnecting it, but how do I load that battery? I bought a digital voltmeter that plugs into the cigarette lighter and unplugged the coach overnight to see how much the batteries drain. I left the inverter that the microwave is attached to on. Last night, my meter read 13.48 volts, and this morning it read 12.92 volts. When I turned the second inverter on, it dropped to 12.74 volts.
__________________
Lorin Riutta
Ishpeming, MI
1996 43'
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-14-2018
Randy Dupree's Avatar
Randy Dupree Randy Dupree is offline
Forum owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Archer,Fl
Posts: 31,956
Default

go here.
https://www.google.com/search?q=batt...firefox-b-1-ab


Use the google search at the top of the WOG page,you can read all night while most of us are sleeping!
Really,what happens is we have talked this proceedure to death,lots of guys will not reply,so if you search you will find that you need to take a pic of the wires/cables on the batteries and then take the cables off,test and then put them all back on.
__________________
DO NOT SEND PM
email me at randy@randydupree.com only.

Randy Dupree
2000 LXI 43
Bainbridge,Ga.
Archer Fl.
www.buybyebluebird.com

randy@randydupree.com
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-14-2018
Rick's Avatar
Rick Rick is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bellefonte
Posts: 12,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ldr View Post
I haven't load tested them yet. Any ideas how to load test each individual battery that is part of the bank of six? I can test the voltage of each one easily enough simply by disconnecting it, but how do I load that battery? I bought a digital voltmeter that plugs into the cigarette lighter and unplugged the coach overnight to see how much the batteries drain. I left the inverter that the microwave is attached to on. Last night, my meter read 13.48 volts, and this morning it read 12.92 volts. When I turned the second inverter on, it dropped to 12.74 volts.
You will have to buy a load tester or take your batteries into a Parts store and have them test them for you. You might want to take pictures of how your battery bank cables are attached to the batteries.
__________________
Rick Shawver
1SG Ret
2000 LX
Vise Grips
Bellefonte, AR
F127656
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-14-2018
Mikenjackie's Avatar
Mikenjackie Mikenjackie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Full-timing
Posts: 346
Default

LOad testing the batteries is easy. Harbor Freight has a load test tool, I think it's $19. then you can use the 20% discount coupon to reduce it more. If you don't have a local store you can get them online. You just disconnect each battery to be tested one at a time, so you don't need to remember where everything goes, attach the 2 clips to the battery, & read the meter. It has actual voltage plus "good", "borderline" & "bad" sectors. Then you press the trigger to load the battery up for about 4-5 seconds & make sure the meter needle stays in the green. That's it! The tool can also check that your alternator is charging the battery bank when the engine's running.
__________________
Mike & Jackie Williams
Fruit Heights, UT
385-477-9780
"Retirement Bird" 1997 43WB
"Silver Shadow"1988 PT-40 Concept Coach - Sold!
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-14-2018
Ldr Ldr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ishpeming
Posts: 41
Default

I finally got a chance to test the batteries. I bought a battery tester from performance tool. When I test the batts, it asks me to choose the SAE rating, which I believe means the CCA. Anyway, I raised the SAE rating on the tester for each battery until it told me the battery was bad and should be replaced. For the house batts, these were my results:
Batt #1 SAE 460. State of Health 80% State of Charge 100% 13.34 V
Batt #2 SAE 440 SOH 81% SOC 100 13.34 V
Batt #3 SAE 635 SOH 81% SOC 100% 13.36 V
Batt #4 SAE 405 SOH 80% SOC 100% 13.32 V
Batt #5 SAE 455 SOH 80% SOC 100% 13.32 V
Batt #6 SAE 865 SOH 82% SOC 100% 13.35 V


I don't know if it is significant that two of the batteries were able to be tested at a much higher SAE rating than the others.



For the start batts, all passed at the full 1200 SAE. SOH 85-89% and 96% SOC. I suspect that the high SAE comes from them being start batts as opposed to deep cycle batts. Lifeline's website does show the deep cycle 8D's as 1350 CCA's at 0F, so if that is the case, then I would have suspected the SAE test number should have been able to be higher.



Anyway, so far, I've eliminated the main Batt switch, the start batts, and any batt terminal cable as the problem.
__________________
Lorin Riutta
Ishpeming, MI
1996 43'
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-16-2018
Rick's Avatar
Rick Rick is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bellefonte
Posts: 12,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ldr View Post
I finally got a chance to test the batteries. I bought a battery tester from performance tool. When I test the batts, it asks me to choose the SAE rating, which I believe means the CCA. Anyway, I raised the SAE rating on the tester for each battery until it told me the battery was bad and should be replaced. For the house batts, these were my results:
Batt #1 SAE 460. State of Health 80% State of Charge 100% 13.34 V
Batt #2 SAE 440 SOH 81% SOC 100 13.34 V
Batt #3 SAE 635 SOH 81% SOC 100% 13.36 V
Batt #4 SAE 405 SOH 80% SOC 100% 13.32 V
Batt #5 SAE 455 SOH 80% SOC 100% 13.32 V
Batt #6 SAE 865 SOH 82% SOC 100% 13.35 V


I don't know if it is significant that two of the batteries were able to be tested at a much higher SAE rating than the others.



For the start batts, all passed at the full 1200 SAE. SOH 85-89% and 96% SOC. I suspect that the high SAE comes from them being start batts as opposed to deep cycle batts. Lifeline's website does show the deep cycle 8D's as 1350 CCA's at 0F, so if that is the case, then I would have suspected the SAE test number should have been able to be higher.



Anyway, so far, I've eliminated the main Batt switch, the start batts, and any batt terminal cable as the problem.
SAE Society of Automotive Engineers So what is the SAE rating of the batteries in your coach?

OK it looks like SAE is CCA. Crank your load tester up to say 1000 and see what your batteries do. First test results looks like they are very weak.
__________________
Rick Shawver
1SG Ret
2000 LX
Vise Grips
Bellefonte, AR
F127656
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-16-2018
Ldr Ldr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ishpeming
Posts: 41
Default

The tester asks for the SAE rating for the battery being tested. It allows me to turn the SAE setting up to 1200, and on the package it says the tester can test batts up to 1200 CCA. I assume that in this case when they want me to input SAE I am suppose to put in the CCA? I looked on Lifeline's website for 8D batts, and there is nothing about SAE anywhere. Neither is there on the batteries. http://lifelinebatteries.com/product...eries/gpl-8dl/
__________________
Lorin Riutta
Ishpeming, MI
1996 43'
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-16-2018
Ldr Ldr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ishpeming
Posts: 41
Default

One thing I can't quite understand. On my main panel in the bedroom, I can shut the power down with the master switch, but if I leave that on and individually try to shut off the fridge, microwave, or aqua hot, they will not shut off. They stay on, whether I try it with the coach plugged in to AC or not. If it was only one switch, I'd assume a faulty switch, but all of them at the same time?
__________________
Lorin Riutta
Ishpeming, MI
1996 43'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical problem gcyeaw Electrical 8 05-19-2012 02:43 PM
Another FC Electrical Problem dslcat Electrical 10 03-29-2010 06:24 PM
Electrical Problem ERay Electrical 1 07-08-2009 07:53 PM
Electrical Problem isp2952 General 71 07-03-2009 04:44 PM
Electrical Problem isp2952 General 9 04-01-2009 05:27 PM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.