Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-24-2013
SallySummerlin's Avatar
SallySummerlin SallySummerlin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germantown
Posts: 209
Default NO COACH LOAD or AC Amperage on Leg 1 and Leg 2

"Next project.... figure out why I don’t have AC Amperage on Leg 1 and Leg 2 and no DC voltage on the Coach Load. What’s with that???"

I last used the air conditioners (3) with 50 amp shore power and while driving with the genie. I returned to the bus barn to store. Plugged in 50 amp service and completed my storage checklist. When I returned the TRACE was ticking but working properly - float charging and batteries at 100% but no COACH LOAD or AC Amps on Legs1 and 2 so no air conditioning. It's HOT in Memphis. The thermostat does not light up - we know why.

TROUBLE SHOOTING: Start at the post... re-plugged shoreline and flip breakers - tired. Re-plug shoreline in another breaker box (maybe bad 50 amp breaker?) - tired. Check master breaker box in coach - tired. Check all four panel boxes for blown fuses - tired. It's a sequence issue, stupid ? Check A/T and accessory switches - tired. Looked for A/B switch like on a boat - did not touch - that's for winterizing. This is something very simple. Please Help!

WWBD - What Would Bruce Do?

For more information please read:

What Every WANDERWoman Must Do.....

Posted on the Wanderlodge Forum July 24, 2013. Comments and photos can be read at http://www.wanderlodgeownersgroup.co...ad.php?t=17257
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4740.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	99.0 KB
ID:	23861   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4739.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	98.6 KB
ID:	23862  
__________________


Bruce and Sally Summerlin
Germantown, Tennessee
2000 LXi Millinium
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2013
Mallie Lennon's Avatar
Mallie Lennon Mallie Lennon is offline
1995 WB 42’ Series 60
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Eufaula
Posts: 4,951
Default

Sally, is your AC switches on the dash on?
__________________
Mallie & Karen Lennon
Eufaula, Oklahoma
95 42' Wanderlodge
Please use e mail instead of Private Message
Mallie@EuLake.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2013
SallySummerlin's Avatar
SallySummerlin SallySummerlin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germantown
Posts: 209
Default

YES - all 3! They are almost on the arm rest. The dog always puts his head there and turns them off by accident. Please tell me they should be off but the were on in the campground when working?
__________________


Bruce and Sally Summerlin
Germantown, Tennessee
2000 LXi Millinium
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2013
G_man's Avatar
G_man G_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Litchfield
Posts: 786
Default

Check the sliding switch on the underside of the thermostat. It must be on to power the thermostat.(AKA Comfort Control Center) Next I would turn off, then back on, every breaker in your inside electrical panel to be sure none are tripped. They are sometimes hard to spot by just looking at them. Do this for the "main" double breaker in that panel as well. One side may be tripped.

Yes, the 3 switches for the air conditioners on the armrest have to be "on".
__________________
Rich D. Former Owner; '90 PT40, '99LXi43 & '06 M450 LXi (CT)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2013
SallySummerlin's Avatar
SallySummerlin SallySummerlin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germantown
Posts: 209
Default

Thanks! I'll try that. Are the Air Conditioners all that is on LEG 1 and 2? Do I have to draw to show Amps? or Do I have to have Amps to draw power?

If I don't get this A/C running, I'm going to have to come up to Mohawk Mountain where snow making was invented. It's hot down here!!!
__________________


Bruce and Sally Summerlin
Germantown, Tennessee
2000 LXi Millinium
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2013
Mallie Lennon's Avatar
Mallie Lennon Mallie Lennon is offline
1995 WB 42’ Series 60
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Eufaula
Posts: 4,951
Default

You need the volts, the amps show as you add loads.
It looks like you have volts.
__________________
Mallie & Karen Lennon
Eufaula, Oklahoma
95 42' Wanderlodge
Please use e mail instead of Private Message
Mallie@EuLake.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2013
G_man's Avatar
G_man G_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Litchfield
Posts: 786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SallySummerlin View Post
Thanks! I'll try that. Are the Air Conditioners all that is on LEG 1 and 2? Do I have to draw to show Amps? or Do I have to have Amps to draw power?

If I don't get this A/C running, I'm going to have to come up to Mohawk Mountain where snow making was invented. It's hot down here!!!
I am 5 miles from Mohawk right now!

Your coach, when plugged into a 50 amp circuit actually has two 50 amp circuits. They are called Leg 1 and Leg 2. All of the electrical equipment is split up between the two legs, as evenly as possible. The amp meters show the amount of current (amps) that you are using. A few small loads will not even show on these meters.

You should be showing voltage on both leg 1 & 2 voltmeters. If still not showing after resetting the breakers, try starting the generator and let us know what happens. Note, there is a delay of about 1 minute after starting the gen before it connects.
__________________
Rich D. Former Owner; '90 PT40, '99LXi43 & '06 M450 LXi (CT)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2013
SallySummerlin's Avatar
SallySummerlin SallySummerlin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germantown
Posts: 209
Default

Get the volts first so I show the load (amps). I remember watching the needles move when the air would kick in.
__________________


Bruce and Sally Summerlin
Germantown, Tennessee
2000 LXi Millinium
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2013
iamflagman's Avatar
iamflagman iamflagman is offline
(1943-2018) Forum Co-founder/Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hopkins
Posts: 11,506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G_man View Post
Check the sliding switch on the underside of the thermostat. It must be on to power the thermostat.(AKA Comfort Control Center) Next I would turn off, then back on, every breaker in your inside electrical panel to be sure none are tripped. They are sometimes hard to spot by just looking at them. Do this for the "main" double breaker in that panel as well. One side may be tripped.

Yes, the 3 switches for the air conditioners on the armrest have to be "on".

I agree with Rich, but might add I used to just flip the breaker ON thinking it was already in the OFF position and in fact it was in the TRIPPED position and by firmly pushing the breaker to FULL ON and then FULLY OFF was the correct way to RESET the breaker, then when I turned the breaker to FULL ON the breaker should work. When it is TRIPPED the breaker lever will sometimes have a little wiggle to and doesn't feel as firm as it would normally be and it then needs to be reset.

Sally and I had a long conversation yesterday and I told her that I can find a lot of related threads and posts on WOG, but when it comes to the newer 'Birds I really don't have the first hand knowledge and asked her to post this problem on WOG and that the members would help much more than I could and you guys are proving me right.
__________________

JOHN FINN
FORUM MODERATOR-ADMINISTRATOR
1982 FC35RB
I'm NO EXPERT, but I did stay in the FINN'S INN EXPRESS last night
HOPKINS, SOUTH CAROLINA
VISIT THE FINN'S INN EXPRESS REMODELING ADVENTURE AND TECH. TIPS
I'M SO SLOW ON THE HILLS,THAT I GET TO SMELL THE FLOWERS AS I GO BY.....AND WATCH THEM GROW TOO!! NOT SO MUCH ANYMORE
Visit the WILD HARE RACING website
REMEMBER 9/11
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-24-2013
KCSS's Avatar
KCSS KCSS is offline
senior member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: DeLand
Posts: 4,190
Default

I last used the air conditioners (3) with 50 amp shore power and while driving with the genie. I returned to the bus barn to store. Plugged in 50 amp service and completed my storage checklist. When I returned the TRACE was ticking but working properly - float charging and batteries at 100% but no COACH LOAD or AC Amps on Legs1 and 2 so no air conditioning. It's HOT in Memphis. The thermostat does not light up - we know why.

TRANSFER SWITCH?
I have forgotten to change it when putting coach in shop - plugged in shore power - wonder why I gots no a/c in coach
__________________
KC & Emma
DeLand, FL
2000 LXI
"Bordering On Adequate"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vanner amperage booster? Jim Keefauver Electrical 0 11-16-2011 03:34 PM
Talk About a Load Off... KD Roberts Full Timers 8 04-07-2011 08:09 AM
Heavy Load Mark105 Under The Awning 2 05-03-2010 06:03 PM
Load air Valve?????? CEE Vehicle Issues 3 04-20-2010 01:29 PM
Need Help!!! L H & RH REAR LOAD CTR FatGuySlim Electrical 5 11-01-2009 08:13 PM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.