Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:

Old 07-16-2009
(1943-2018) Forum Co-founder/Administrator

Default FC Additional Ground Strap

I want to add an additional ground strap from the engine to the frame on my '82FC and I am looking for suggestions for a location for that strap, has anybody already done this and if so where did you mount the ground strap from and to?

Thanks,

JOHN FINN
FORUM MODERATOR-ADMINISTRATOR
1982 FC35RB
I'm NO EXPERT, but I did stay in the FINN'S INN EXPRESS last night
HOPKINS, SOUTH CAROLINA
VISIT THE FINN'S INN EXPRESS REMODELING ADVENTURE AND TECH. TIPS
I'M SO SLOW ON THE HILLS,THAT I GET TO SMELL THE FLOWERS AS I GO BY.....AND WATCH THEM GROW TOO!! NOT SO MUCH ANYMORE
Visit the WILD HARE RACING website
REMEMBER 9/11
Old 07-16-2009

I was having trouble cranking the engine over, thats when I dicovered the woven ground strap from the starter to the frame was acting like a heating element when I engaged the starter.

I took a battery cable I had laying around and attached it to the same point as the woven one on the starter. I found a piece of angle iron that is part of the compartment structure, ground it clean, and drilled a hole. After I attached the cable it spins over easily every time.

Just make sure you have clean tight connections at both ends and avoid drilling a frame rail.

Good luck.
1982 FC33
Old 07-17-2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by maustin View Post
I was having trouble cranking the engine over, thats when I dicovered the woven ground strap from the starter to the frame was acting like a heating element when I engaged the starter.