Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > HVAC, Air Conditioners, Aqua Hot, Primus, Webasto, Chassis Heaters, Furnaces and Water Heaters

HVAC, Air Conditioners, Aqua Hot, Primus, Webasto, Chassis Heaters, Furnaces and Water Heaters Questions and information about the wide variety of Heating and Air Conditioning as well as Water Heater systems available are discussed here.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-29-2019
toolmaker toolmaker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hot Springs National Park
Posts: 579
Default Dash fan no high speed

All 3 of the lower speeds are working but high quit. All blender door functions are operating if that matters.
On searching this issue if high works but not the slower speeds its a bad resistor. Geez, I hate working under that dash area!
Any help greatly appreciated.
__________________
Paul Cambron
Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas
1996 BMC 40
fmca 200288
eglider03@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2019
irmagoo's Avatar
irmagoo irmagoo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: washington
Posts: 2,569
Default

hi paul i had the same thing happen the wire had no power to it i ran i circuit from unused fuse in lower center panel and all was good... mike
__________________
mike mcgraugh
2003 LXI
"Blacktop Gyspy"
even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in awhile
washington Il.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2019
toolmaker toolmaker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hot Springs National Park
Posts: 579
Default

Thanks for getting back to me on this Mike.
Are you adding a new 12v source to the switch or the fan terminal ? Is there a relay involved ?
Need to get out there and start probing wires but it was 90 + here yesterday.
__________________
Paul Cambron
Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas
1996 BMC 40
fmca 200288
eglider03@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2019
irmagoo's Avatar
irmagoo irmagoo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: washington
Posts: 2,569
Default

are you guys coming to wog? i think i just added a new feed but cant remember if i look at yours i'm sure it will come to me ,,,it's been a few years since i did it mike
__________________
mike mcgraugh
2003 LXI
"Blacktop Gyspy"
even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in awhile
washington Il.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2019
rshrimp rshrimp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Myakka City
Posts: 1,504
Default

In GM cars and likely others, there is a seperate circuit for the high blower. It typically has a 30 amp fuse in it. The high blower draws 29.5 amps (or something like that) and will eventually blow that fuse or burn up the wire. At GM dealer we would cut out the 30 amp fuse holder and put in 2- 20 amp fuse holders in parallel. (fuses in parallel add together)
The high blower in GM cars was powered directly from the hot terminal on the alternator.

Also, the switch can burn up. It is hard to check high amp low voltage circuits with an ohm meter or test light because just because the pass voltage does not mean they will pass high current.

While I do not know how a BMC works, for the most part, a 12 heater blower is a 12v heater blower.
__________________
Randy and Sonya Shrimplin
FMCA# F457849
Livin' the dream, next door to the Drysdale's in Beverly Hills FL!
87 FC35 "Old School"
RShrimp@Yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2019
toolmaker toolmaker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hot Springs National Park
Posts: 579
Default

Mike, Randy, thanks for helping me understand how that works.
Once it cools off some I'll get under there and start testing.
__________________
Paul Cambron
Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas
1996 BMC 40
fmca 200288
eglider03@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2019
rshrimp rshrimp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Myakka City
Posts: 1,504
Default

More thoughts. I remember that there is a high blower relay on the GM cars. It had some hefty contacts on it. If BB used a Bosch 30 amper, my bet would be a fried relay.
Now try to find it!
__________________
Randy and Sonya Shrimplin
FMCA# F457849
Livin' the dream, next door to the Drysdale's in Beverly Hills FL!
87 FC35 "Old School"
RShrimp@Yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
toolmaker toolmaker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hot Springs National Park
Posts: 579
Default

Replaced relay and now high speed working.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191118_134453.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	193.4 KB
ID:	65224  
__________________
Paul Cambron
Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas
1996 BMC 40
fmca 200288
eglider03@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Speed Internet on the bus JustLoafin General 5 07-03-2019 11:07 PM
RV in a high speed chase Texas BMC Under The Awning 2 04-25-2014 06:14 PM
dash fan speed BrianS HVAC, Air Conditioners, Aqua Hot, Primus, Webasto, Chassis Heaters, Furnaces and Water Heaters 6 03-27-2014 01:09 AM
dish high speed internet irmagoo Under The Awning 18 01-07-2013 03:05 PM
dash a/c fan speed knobs (FC) wanderlodge3208 Parts Wanted 3 05-15-2008 09:47 PM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.