Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
WOG Gear

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-23-2018
Folks Art Folks Art is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: holland
Posts: 7
Default Running both 30 amp at the same time

Some places do not have 50 amp to run the the whole rig (1982). Is it wise or possible to use two 30 amp, or is there an adapter for one 30 to run both?
__________________
David Fossen
Holland, MI
Wanderlodge 1982
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2018
Chap's Avatar
Chap Chap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Newton
Posts: 1,367
Default

https://www.amazon.com/RV-Cord-Femal...34997750&psc=1
__________________
Chap and Darra Enfinger
Newton, GA
1982 FC33 (sold)
1986 PT40 8v92
"Sturdy Birdy"
http://www.bbirdmaps.com/user1.cfm?user=352
ce@pinelandplantation.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2018
irmagoo's Avatar
irmagoo irmagoo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: washington
Posts: 2,410
Default

yes but you don't get 30 amp each leg you get 15 amp each leg so you should use caution when running things in coach 15 amps doesn't go to far...
__________________
mike mcgraugh
2003 LXI
"Blacktop Gyspy"
even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in awhile
washington Il.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2018
1984Lodge's Avatar
1984Lodge 1984Lodge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Temple Terrace
Posts: 212
Default

Mine came with a cord made up with the 50a twist lock on one end and a 30 amp plug on the other. I used it in the winter time at Ft Clinch state park since our favorite site is only a 30 amp. I can run one of my A/C’s if it starts to get a little warm. But cannot run it and my water heater at the same time. You have to juggle your loads a bit. I could not camp in the summer in FL without 50 amp, I need all 3 cruise airs running.
__________________

Jeff LoGiudice
1984LodgeJeff@gmail.com
Temple Terrace, Florida
1984 Bluebird PT40
#F063411 6V92TA & MT654CR
& 1986 MCI 102A3
6V92TA & HT740

http://www.bbirdmaps.com/index.cfm #460
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2018
irmagoo's Avatar
irmagoo irmagoo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: washington
Posts: 2,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1984Lodge View Post
Mine came with a cord made up with the 50a twist lock on one end and a 30 amp plug on the other. I used it in the winter time at Ft Clinch state park since our favorite site is only a 30 amp. I can run one of my A/C’s if it starts to get a little warm. But cannot run it and my water heater at the same time. You have to juggle your loads a bit. I could not camp in the summer in FL without 50 amp, I need all 3 cruise airs running.
i too have a cord 2-30 to 50 amp but at a little rv park in cross city fl. i tried to us it and both power boxes on pole that covered our spot and the next spot were on same breaker at power distribution panel a 30 amp-er:say what??? ( so only one thing at a time....
__________________
mike mcgraugh
2003 LXI
"Blacktop Gyspy"
even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in awhile
washington Il.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2018
Kiwi3's Avatar
Kiwi3 Kiwi3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Dothan
Posts: 532
Default

You could also try one of these, IF there are two 30 AMP outlets available.
Conntek RV 50-Amp Power Optimizer (2) RV 30-Amp Plug to 50-Amp 125/250-Volt 14-50R Female Connector
by Conntek
Link: http://a.co/d/5hlsSr9

__________________
Marion & Bruce Griffin
Dothan, AL
1994 Wide Body #106048
"Going Galt"
bruce.griffin67@gmail.com
334-350-8564
Blue Bird Map

*Views expressed here are not supported, endorsed, or even “liked” by any agency or individual.
*Medicated for your comfort. Comfort not guaranteed. Experiences may vary.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2018
Kiwi3's Avatar
Kiwi3 Kiwi3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Dothan
Posts: 532
Default

Or you could try one of these to get 45AMPs.

Camco Heavy Duty PowerGrip Maximizer 45 AMP Adapter - Combines Power from 15 and 30 AMP Outlets to Generate 45 AMPs Into Your RV or Camper (55025)
by Camco
Link: http://a.co/d/6V9JdHp

__________________
Marion & Bruce Griffin
Dothan, AL
1994 Wide Body #106048
"Going Galt"
bruce.griffin67@gmail.com
334-350-8564
Blue Bird Map

*Views expressed here are not supported, endorsed, or even “liked” by any agency or individual.
*Medicated for your comfort. Comfort not guaranteed. Experiences may vary.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2018
Bruce Bruce is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 792
Default

Kiwi. In most parks the 15 and 30 amp are the same circuit. If the 15 is a GFCI it will not work. I have one of those and have never been able to use it.
__________________
Bruce
1988 FC 35
" La Reina Gitana" SOLD

1988 PT38 La Reina Gitana II
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long time watcher, First time owner! cm_shannon New Members 7 08-08-2018 01:07 PM
Long time lurker, first time posting Lew New Members 13 03-03-2018 09:27 PM
79 FC33-blower? fan running all the time bosshog FC (Forward Control Unique Issues) 7 10-03-2011 12:12 PM
& the 78 is running 78bbird General 0 01-18-2011 12:50 PM
First time owner--long time wannabee. Randall New Members 2 03-31-2008 10:33 PM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.