Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-04-2009
jcoop0001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Rookie Shore power question including Adapters

Trying to figure the power supply out.

If I plug my 30A cord into the upper 30A socket I get no power to the coach. If I plug my 30A cord into the lower 30a socket I get 1/2 of my outletts working. If I plug my 50A cord everything works.

Am I missing something or is something not working?

Sorry for the rookie question.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2009
fxdwg fxdwg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: okc
Posts: 3,843
Default

John,
I don't know about the upper and lower sockets, but the 30A is only wired to half the sockets to prevent an overload. You can buy the cheater cables that will allow you to power everything from only 30A, but it's much easier to trigger a breaker when doing so. The 50A powers both sides of the main, so all sockets (110v that is) will work.
__________________
John
96 WTOS 42'
OKC USA!


don't waste your time with a usa-spec ipod adapter- poor products with poor support

Last edited by fxdwg; 01-04-2009 at 06:33 PM. Reason: adding info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2009
jcoop0001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I was thinking that each 30a would power 1/2 of the coach, but with the upper one not powering anything it kinda blew my theory

thanks for the info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2009
Tim Tim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pea Ridge
Posts: 303
Default

ok, I hate to sound like a know it all, but after 34 year workin on these things , I have learned a whole lot, and on your power cords, lets think back to when this coach was built, originally it had 3 plugs to plugs cords into, they were color coded, 2 had yellow tape one the and one had red tape one it, the yellow plugs were 30 amps 120v each, but to use your coach properly both were suppesed to be hooked at the same time , giving you 60 amps to use , only one cord was to be used for the red or 50 amp 240vplus,either the 50 amp 240v or the 30 amp 120v cord with the red tape on it, it has a 50 amp end on it ,so it would only plug into the correct plug, its the cheater cord, allows all systems to work only giving you lower amps, 30 instead of 50
there ya go, power cord 101
__________________
Tim Gunter , RV Interiors
Wanderlodge & RV Tech, 44 years experience
478-225-8874
Our Address is 1900 Slack St. Pea Ridge Ark. 72751,
Just east of Bentonville, Ark, in the North West Corner
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2009
fxdwg fxdwg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: okc
Posts: 3,843
Default

Tim,
That's a better explanation of what my limited post was trying to say!! Thanks!!
__________________
John
96 WTOS 42'
OKC USA!


don't waste your time with a usa-spec ipod adapter- poor products with poor support
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2009
jcoop0001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Tim, Thanks allot, that makes sense.

brings me to another question

1. Does it matter which plug on the 30A you use if you only have one 30A service avaialble?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2009
jcoop0001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

oops,

should have really said. if you only have 1 30a (yellow) cord to plug in does it matter if it goes to the top or bottom.

Things are getting much clearer

thx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2009
Tim Tim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pea Ridge
Posts: 303
Default

yes, each yellow plug supplies power to half the breaker panel, so the charger will only keep the batteries up if thats the plug you use, thats why you should always use both yellow cords together, or the 50 amp cord or if you donr have a cheater cord ,just put a 30 amp to 50amp adapter on your 50 amp cord works the same as a cheater cord
__________________
Tim Gunter , RV Interiors
Wanderlodge & RV Tech, 44 years experience
478-225-8874
Our Address is 1900 Slack St. Pea Ridge Ark. 72751,
Just east of Bentonville, Ark, in the North West Corner
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2009
jcoop0001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

went back out to the coach

I do not have a seconed 30a (yellow) cord. I do have the 30A with a 50A end on it so I am good to go.

After looking at what I had it all makes sense now.

Thanks for all the info

I have another question, I have a light switch over the head of the bed. it appears to do nothing, any ideas? It looks just like the regular light switches throughout the rest of the coach.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2009
Tim Tim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pea Ridge
Posts: 303
Default

hi again, you might try and see if that switch kills the power to the TV outlet,
if not I can recall off hand , is it on the pmmi panel or like an Ivory light switch?
__________________
Tim Gunter , RV Interiors
Wanderlodge & RV Tech, 44 years experience
478-225-8874
Our Address is 1900 Slack St. Pea Ridge Ark. 72751,
Just east of Bentonville, Ark, in the North West Corner
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power to the AC DMT 'Bird Projects & Modifications 8 09-09-2008 06:30 AM
Racor Question BusBoyJj Engine 28 06-22-2008 08:14 PM
30 amp shore power plug sanibel Electrical 1 06-22-2008 02:24 PM
Shore power electric dbcooper100 Electrical 14 04-28-2008 07:52 PM
Only one half of the coach runs on shore power iamflagman Electrical 2 01-22-2008 11:11 AM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.