Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Engine

Engine Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's engine.

Site Search:

Old 02-25-2008
1983 FC 35 "Casa Billisa"

Default 1. Fuel in the Valley slow fuel drip. 2. Valve lashing... Can it wait?

"I have changed a leaky throttle rod seal, and a few other gaskets without removing the pump , to stop the fuel in the valley leak."

Hello all,

Two issues here:

1. Fuel in the Valley slow fuel drip.
2. Valve lashing, can it wait?

I am new at all of this... pretty handy, but no mechanic. This is in reference to our new to us 1983 FC,

I have fuel in the valley and am not sure of the source. There is a fuel drip to the ground (every 15+- seconds) from one of three small tubes (bleed tubes?) that extend from the pump downward and terminate near the frame rail on the driver's side. This drip seems to have started when the cold weather set in.

Additionally, the hose that comes off the t-valve at the top of the pump (return line?) is failing and leaking a bit ( drop every 30 +-seconds) This hose needs to be changed. Its bulging and cracking (it looks like it is melting into one of the injector lines near its attachment to the pump).

I'm wondering if I can fix this myself?

For reference, I recently changed out the transmission cooler lines and that was a manageable project for me. Are these issues similar in difficulty or am I getting into tougher territory?

The coach has just under 75,000 miles on it and seems to run just fine... but we have not been out on a significant run yet. No smoke, starts instantly, sounds good, runs up to 65 etc.

I hear that I should have the valves lashed. I'm in contact with the original owner and he does not recall having this done and the records don't show it. Is this something that can wait a while?

Your feedback is always appreciated.

Thanks
St. Petersburg, Florida