Wanderlodge Owners Group  
BuyByeBlueBird.com
Donate

Go Back   Wanderlodge Owners Group > Mechanic's Corner > Electrical

Electrical Discussion of preventative/corrective maintenance and other technical issues regarding your coach's electrical system.

Site Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 06-02-2019
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,155
Default

I finally got around to looking in all the boxes behind the sink, I had one up behind the ice maker also.

I have the same boxes in dleftys picture but no relays just wires with wire nuts.
Any other place the relays could be, one box does say inverter on it but no relays. May have been removed by the previous owners.

I was going to pull the transfer switch next to take a look.

Could this also be related to a faulty breaker ?
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-04-2019
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,155
Default

Anyone have any ideas what was done here ?

Here’s what I have in that box that should contain the relay.
I’m not sure how this was wired, it’s hard to see but one black and one white wire just terminate and have wire nuts on them the other black and white wires are connected.

I’m thinking the powers getting fed though my inverter and it shuts the power off, some breaker or something in the inverter.

I want to reinstall the relay hopefully that will remedy my problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CF13CCCA-C93B-4087-80D3-C878549C2A80.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	205.0 KB
ID:	62308  
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35

Last edited by Steelwheels; 06-05-2019 at 02:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-05-2019
Bill Pape's Avatar
Bill Pape Bill Pape is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Commerce
Posts: 11,152
Default

Someone didn't like the Hmmm.
__________________
Bill & Patty
1988 FC, Silver Edition
Commerce, Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-05-2019
gcyeaw's Avatar
gcyeaw gcyeaw is offline
Gardner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ridgewood
Posts: 8,734
Default

Most modern inverter/chargers pass the 110 supply power through to the connected outlets. That negates the need for the relay system as the output of the inverter is either the shore/gen power or the 110 from the inverter.

Coaches with the Redi-Line unit needed the relays because there was no 110 source to the Redi-line. So I would guess some PO's removed the relays and connected the inverter output directly to the outlets.

I would trace the supply to the inverter and the output from the inverter to see how it is set up. You will likely find a lonesome relay forgotten in the changeover/

Just my guess, but looking at the box with out the relay leads me to this conclusion.
__________________
Gardner Yeaw
86 PT-36 Golden Memories
83FC35 SB $IXTEEN TON$ SOLD
78 FC 33 Happinest (Sold)
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-05-2019
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,155
Default

I don’t understand how my coach is wired. I have s progressive smart charger, and my inverter is plugged into a ATS-501 (automatic transfer switch) all in one bay.

Can someone explain what’s going on. I think I understand the battery charger.

Here’s a picture of my ats.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2C17C615-BF16-4A4B-8ACF-C179B7601374.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	192.1 KB
ID:	62331  
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-06-2019
gcyeaw's Avatar
gcyeaw gcyeaw is offline
Gardner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ridgewood
Posts: 8,734
Default

Do you have a pic of the inverter? Or a make and model?
__________________
Gardner Yeaw
86 PT-36 Golden Memories
83FC35 SB $IXTEEN TON$ SOLD
78 FC 33 Happinest (Sold)
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-06-2019
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,155
Default

The inverter is a “gopower 1000w”.

I have a plug that comes from the ATS and is plugged into the inverter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	8B2D6BD6-09EC-4020-ACFA-863C2647E3B9.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	195.9 KB
ID:	62343   Click image for larger version

Name:	8996739E-F6A2-4D12-9E58-93DFAD21441D.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	198.5 KB
ID:	62344  
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-06-2019
gcyeaw's Avatar
gcyeaw gcyeaw is offline
Gardner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ridgewood
Posts: 8,734
Default

I think I see what was done (not a gaurantee though)

I assume you still have the original mechanical transfer switch by the entry door? I also assume you use that to switch between gen and shore power??

What I think the PO did was add the electronic transfer switch to a 110 line in the coach from the breaker panel, I hope, and a second line from the inverter. It is probably set up so when there is 110 from the power panel the electronic transfer switch passes that on to the specific outlets. When there is no power from the panel the electronic transfer switch switches to the inverter output. (Could be the other way around?)

That is also the original function of the relays that were removed. Guy probably didn't understand or thought he could outsmart the system!! Camping World repair??


Check the wiring in the electronic transfer switch for loose connections or other problems. Could just be a problem with that switch.

See diagram
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Xfer-SteelWheels.pdf (23.4 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Gardner Yeaw
86 PT-36 Golden Memories
83FC35 SB $IXTEEN TON$ SOLD
78 FC 33 Happinest (Sold)
Ridgewood, New Jersey

Last edited by gcyeaw; 06-06-2019 at 03:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-06-2019
Steelwheels's Avatar
Steelwheels Steelwheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque & Downers Grove
Posts: 1,155
Default

Thanks for looking at this Gardner.

My issue is that I loose power to the outlets that were originally wired by Bluebird to be powered off the inverter when not connected to shore power or the generator. But I loose power when connected to shore power or the generator, I can switch the breaker off and on that powers that circuit and get the power to come back on sometimes it takes a few times, switch off switch on. I am pretty sure when the inverter is powered on and connected to shore I get power on that circuit.

Do you think I need the inverter powered on to get the ATS to function ?
Or is my ATS failing or not functioning properly(wired incorrectly).
Or is it something else completely?

I can test leaving the inverter on and remove the power feed to the circuits by unplugging the feed plug.

The power cutting out all the time is extremely annoying.
__________________
Kiki B
Downers Grove, IL
87fc35
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-06-2019
gcyeaw's Avatar
gcyeaw gcyeaw is offline
Gardner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ridgewood
Posts: 8,734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steelwheels View Post
Thanks for looking at this Gardner.

My issue is that I loose power to the outlets that were originally wired by Bluebird to be powered off the inverter when not connected to shore power or the generator. But I loose power when connected to shore power or the generator, I can switch the breaker off and on that powers that circuit and get the power to come back on sometimes it takes a few times, switch off switch on. I am pretty sure when the inverter is powered on and connected to shore I get power on that circuit.

Do you think I need the inverter powered on to get the ATS to function ?
Or is my ATS failing or not functioning properly(wired incorrectly).
Or is it something else completely?

I can test leaving the inverter on and remove the power feed to the circuits by unplugging the feed plug.

The power cutting out all the time is extremely annoying.
I modified my reply several times. In the end the best solution is too dump the transfer switch and re-wire the relay(s) in. But you may have issues since it was messed with by a dope?
__________________
Gardner Yeaw
86 PT-36 Golden Memories
83FC35 SB $IXTEEN TON$ SOLD
78 FC 33 Happinest (Sold)
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losing power (water in fuel) JonDee Caterpillar 3208 Solutions 10 05-22-2016 09:20 AM
Losing power to both legs with generator running Mark b Electrical 14 06-14-2015 06:02 AM
8v92 losing power and shutting down robinpotter Engine 28 07-08-2013 11:08 PM
120 V Power Outlet Dead Clembo PT & WB (Twin Axle Pusher Unique Issues) 4 09-08-2012 09:02 AM
Losing voltage while on shore power and while driving Strayhound Electrical 3 11-15-2010 05:01 PM

Web Search:

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.